Does rapamycin have full government FDA approval for use as intended as longevity treatment?

In terms of the FDA approval for longevity, rapamycin is an off-label use. The FDA approves drugs for an indicated use to either cure or prevent a particular illness or condition. Because extending lifespan is not a condition that the FDA would assess, the use of rapamycin has not been approved nor assessed for longevity. However, there are countless studies, including the data we collect from our patients lab testing, to indicate that rapamycin is indeed improving longevity.

Hi! I’m new in this topic. How early/young should one start to take it? Or do i need to have a medical condition?

Hi @Gabacaba, welcome to the Healthspan community!

In terms of age to start, the thought is to begin in your 30s. I started at 35 at a 3mg/week dose. Dr. Mikhail Blagosklonny, the leading researcher on rapamycin as a therapeutic to attack cellular senescence and mTOR driven aging, has written about this: